How to Ombre dye clothes

This was actual fun to do and wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I was very scared I would dye my floor, skin and anything else that I might make a mess with but none of that happen. Phew!

So where to start?  How about color. I used Rite liquid color.  Use the link to see what color combinations there is and what colors you need to make them. Rit Color Formula Guide

DSC_0006 copy DSC_0007 copy

Next, I cut some old pants and capri into shorts. One I sewed a line about ½” from the bottom so they could fray but not keep going up.  The other I hemmed normal.  I should a picture of one of shorts having designs on them(they were fine during step 1)

Bleach bottoms for dying

Step 1. Skip this step if you are using white fabric already.  Use a 1:3 part radio of bleach to water in a container big enough that my shorts could be submerged in the mixture.  This took around 2-4 hours to get to a White color stage. Rinse.

items for coloring copy

What I used in my Rit Color Dye: *Note this might depend on the color you have chosen*

  • Rit Liquid or Powder Dye
  • White Garment, cotton, rayon, linen, silk or nylon
  • 2-Cup glass measuring cup
  • 3-Gallon plastic bin or bucket
  • Metal spoon
  • Rubber gloves
  • Salt
  • Dishwashing liquid
  • Dowel rod, 1″ diameter
  • Plastic cover or tablecloth

dye mix copy

Step 2.  I followed the directions for the Rit Formula Guide from the color I picked out.  This is my mixture.  I add this to my bucket with Hot water.
purple ombre shorts

Wet the item and rinse out the excess water.  This will help the dye absorb more evenly. Items will look darker but once they are rinsed and dried the item will be come lighter and the true color.  So keep this in mind when you are dying the item.

I start with the shorts upside down because I wanted them dark to light.

  • Submerge them where you want the first section to be. Gently move up and down for 10 minutes.
  • Submerge the item down more for another 5 minutes. Again, gently moving up and down.
  • Lastly, while wearing gloves submerge the remaining item quickly.  This is done to give it a slight tint.
  • Wring out the excess dye water out of the item.
  • With Cold water rinse the item upside down(lightest to darkest) then use Warm water until the water runs clear.
  • Wash item with Warm water and detergent and dry.

ombre tank top

Each fabric grabs the color differently to keep that in mind.  These clothes are all dyed with the same batch of purple but not one came out the same color.all dyed clothes copytie dyed tshirt copydyed socks copy

Leave a Reply

