Homemade Powder Dishwasher Detergent & Rinse Aid

I started making my own homemade laundry soap and during the time of finding a great laundry soap I came across Dishwasher Detergent.  And once you start making cleaners it’s kind of hard to stop making other things.

powder dishwasher detergent n rinse aid

Here is what you need:

  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Washing soda
  • ½ cup Kosher salt
  • ½ cup Citric acid

Just mix them all in a bowl and stir until blended well.  That’s all you have to do.  It’s ready to use. Can you believe how fast that was.  It probably took longer to find the recipe.

Batch yields 24 oz

1 TBSP per Load

Rinse Aid:

Vinegar to the rinse aid of your dishwasher.  Optional: add a few drops of tea tree oil with the vinegar.  Not only does this help with with the water spots but it is great for cleaning out your dishwasher to help remove any build up!

 

dishwasher detergent

Now for the match comparison:

I used Cascade, $7.99 for a 155 oz bottle.  I use about 4 oz per load, that’s 38 loads of dishes I am able to use.  That is .21¢ per load

Time to break down the homemade cost. I spent $13.38 for all these products. Yeah it is more then if I bought the Cascade but let’s see if it’s better.

Borax is 4 lbs and $3.38 a box which equals 7.67 cups; rounding to 7 cups that comes to .48¢ per cup.

Washing Soda is 3 lbs 7 oz and $3.24 a box which equals 6 cups that comes to .46¢ per cup.

Kosher Salt is 48 oz and $3.79 that is 6 cups.  Since it only calls for ½ a cup that comes to .32¢ for a half a cup.

Citric Acid is $2.97 for 7.5 oz that is almost 1 cup.(Next time I am getting a 5 lb bag from amazon for less than $30) Again only ½ a cup is used so that is $1.49 for half a cup.  Ouch on that one but lets see what it comes out to.

Totally $2.75 for 24 oz.  Using only 1 TBSP that is 48 loads of dishes I can use it for.  Which comes to .06¢ per load! Saving .15¢ per load.

dishwasher detergent

I do have to say this detergent does get clumpy after a while.  I don’t know if it is because I don’t have an air tight container yet or if it just does that.  But it works and that is what matter.  And, I don’t have unnecessary ingredients in my detergent.  I am on my way to making life easier and loving every minute of it!

If you like the labels I have them for downloading as well as a Cleaning Recipe Booklet.  I am currently working on different colors of labels so if you don’t see colors you like let me know and/or check back later.

cleaning recipe booklet and labels

What products did I end up liking and making into the booklet?

I also put pages about essential oils, where to buy the products and about the cost of them and the tutorials from the original websites.

finished products

3 thoughts on “Homemade Powder Dishwasher Detergent & Rinse Aid

  1. Pingback: Turning Baking Soda into Washing Soda | Crafty Family

  2. Pingback: Homemade Liquid Dish Soap | Crafty Family

  3. Pingback: Homemade Deodorant Disks | Crafty Family

Leave a Reply

