Homemade Powder Laundry Soap

laundry soap

I have been wanting to make my own laundry soap for a few months now.  I kept waiting until I was almost out of laundry soap before making my own but then I needed to do laundry so I would just go and buy more because I didn’t want to go searching for the products.  Basically I was being lazy. But I told myself just do it.  I had 3 days off so there was no excuses and I had enough to do 2 more loads.  So off I went on my search.

Everything can be found at Walmart, Target or Amazon.  I made labels and a Cleaning Booklet that tells you all the recipes, where to buy, how much they cost, what the essential oils do and the tutorials from the original websites.

  • Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap
  • Homemade Laundry Softener and Dryer Sheets
  • Homemade Wool Dryer Balls
  • Homemade Anti-bacterial Spray
  • Homemade All Purpose Cleaner
  • Homemade Grease Cutter
  • Homemade Bathroom Cleaner
  • Homemade Powder Dish Detergent and Rinse Aid
  • Homemade Liquid Dish Soap
  • Homemade Disk Deodorants
  • Turning Baking Soda into Washing Soda

This was so simply I couldn’t believe it.  It took about 5 minutes and I was done.  I was a little skeptical so I did the first load with my dogs blankets.  They wouldn’t care if they got ruined.  But everything came out like normal.  The smells we gone, it felt soft.  So the rest of the laundry got washed as well.  I was very impressed, I went to work tell everyone how I made homemade laundry soap.  It was awesome!  Bye Bye Woolite!

We were using Woolite laundry soap is 100 fl oz (12.5 cups) at $13 for 50 loads that is .26¢ per load. Rounding up I spent a total of $7.59.  But I didn’t even use all of it.  So lets do a little math.

Borax is 4 lbs and $3.38 a box which equals 7.67 cups; rounding to 7 cups that comes to .48¢ per cup.

Washing Soda is 3 lbs 7 oz and $3.24 a box which equals 6 cups that comes to .46¢ per cup.

Fels-Naptha Bar soap .97¢ we use the whole thing so that stays the same.

That comes to a total of $1.91 for 64 loads equaling .03¢ per load.  Saving you .23¢ per load! powder laundry soap

What is needed to make powder laundry soap

  • 1 Shaved or grind bar soap (Ivory, Dr. Bronners, Zote or Fels-Naptha)
  • 1 Cup of Borax
  • 1 Cup of Washing Soda

This yields 32 oz (between 32-64 loads) pour in before adding clothes to wash

1 TBSP per load

2 TBSP for Heavily soiled

  1. Shave the bar soap in a bowl using a cheese grater or food processor
  2. Add Borax and Washing soda.
  3. Stir thoroughly for about 5 minutes with a wooden spoon.

That is it and it only took about 5 minutes of your time.  This is fast, easy and pretty much anyone can make it.

I tried both shaving the bar soap and using the food processor.  The food was a little bit easier but because the processor goes fast it started to warm up the soap and it would clump on the rim together so I would have to break it apart with a knife.  The cheese grater just was more arm work the pieces felt a little to big for me still.  My daughter helped me with this and didn’t care for the Fels-Naptha smell so next time I will try Zote bar soap.  But the clothes didn’t smell like the bar soap.  She actually said “I don’t want my clothes washed with this is stinks.” I said “I have been using this for a month already.”  She smelled her shirt than said “Oh.”

What do you do with your old laundry soap you have now? Finish it off or donate it to a shelter.

laundry soap

See more of my favorite homemade household cleaning products.finished products

This is an amazing website DIY Natural where I got the recipe on making this.

Leave a Reply

