Homemade Household Cleaning Products

finished products

These are just some of the homemade cleaning products I have been making over the last month and trying them out to see if I like them and if my family would notice.  Surprisingly pleased at how well they work and how little time and cost it takes to make them.

Once you switch to homemade cleaning products you will never go back.  I am shock at the ingredients that are put into cleaning products that don’t need to be there and how expensive they are.

I spent about $50, that is rounding up and purchasing 3 laundry bar soaps and 3 spray bottles.  And once I made everything I only used about ¼ amount of the products.  The most expensive thing was the Castile soap $17.99!  There is a Kirk castile bar soap for only $1.50 but I could not find it in my area.  But the castile soap a little goes a long way I will probably last me close to 2 years before I use it all.  Everything else was under $3 each.

Homemade household cleaning products

These are the basic items you will need to pretty much make any cleaning product for your home. These can be found at Walmart, Target and even Walgreen’s and Amazon.

Starting from the left: Zote laundry soap, Vinegar, Castile soap, Washing soda, Borax, essential oil, Citric acid, Baking soda, Fels-Naptha laundry soap (you don’t need both just one kind of laundry soap), Kosher salt and Water.  Prices will vary depending on where you live as well as how easy it is to find them.  For me I had to go to 2 different Walmart’s and a Walgreen’s.  Target I could only find the Borax.  But most of the things I got for Walmart.

I found all of the recipes on different websites.  I am just list my favorite ones that I made and loved.  This all started by my sister telling me how to make my own weed killer. After seeing how amazing that worked I wanted to try to making my own laundry soap.  I have a family of 4 and 5 dogs.  We go through a lot of laundry.  I wasn’t buy cheap stuff either, we were using Woolite $13 for 50 loads that is .26¢ per load.  This was even being used to wash the dog beds and blankets and my husbands “working on the car clothes”.

As I started searching for a laundry soap to make I came across so much more and I notice a lot of the ingredients were the same.  So I started writing those down to make as well.  My list started getting longer and longer.  I realized I would need to have a list in a convenient place for make more later.  Most of this products yields a good amount and I wasn’t sure if I would remember what to do or what if my husband would have to make it!  That got me to make my Cleaning Recipe Booklet. That took longer than anything.   Of course now that I made the products I need labels too. On my labels I wrote how much was to be used just like a purchase product would say.

cleaning recipe booklet and labelsWhat products did I end up liking and making into the booklet?

  • Powder Laundry Soap
  • Liquid Laundry Soap
  • Laundry Softener and Dryer Sheets
  • Wool Dryer Balls
  • Anti-bacterial Spray
  • All Purpose Cleaner
  • Grease Cutter
  • Bathroom Cleaner
  • Powder Dish Detergent and Rinse Aid
  • Liquid Dish Soap
  • Disk Deodorants
  • Turning Baking Soda into Washing Soda

I also put pages about essential oils, where to buy the products and about the cost of them and the tutorials from the original websites.

Please let me know if you end up loving them as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

