D.I.Y Baby Shower Gift: Hands free burp cloth

My friend is having her first baby.  When her baby shower came around I started thinking “What was my favorite things when I had my babies?  What did I remember that I wished I had?”  I thought of all those times I was feeding my daughter and how I had to reach to grab something or something fell and I would have to pick it up.  I remember vividly putting the bottle under my chin and holding it to my chest.  Thus began my search for things to help with that.  I came across what is call Baby Butler hands free.  I was so excited, well until no one had it.  Site after site. They were all sold out. Then the little light bulb came above my head.  I can make it myself!  I had made burp clothes earlier so I would just use the pattern from that but adjust it some.  My biggest problem was it needed some weight to counter act the bottle.  I went to my local craft store where I told the sales woman that I need some sort of weight filler that is sort of soft and washable.  Luckily she had an idea and it work, yay!

baby-butler2-500_2

So what exactly is a Hands free burp cloth?  Well it allows you to strap in your baby’ s bottle giving you a free hand to do whatever it is that you need to do, eat, tend to another child, drink some water, grab something etc.  Not only does it do that but there is a pocket for the pacifier. The wieght helps the burp cloth stay on easy.  And lastly the other side can be used as a changing pad with a pillow for the babies head.  Awsome!

What you will need:

  • 1/2 yard of a flannel fabric
  • 1/2 yard of a thin batting (I use a quilting batting)
  • 1/2 yard of a waterproof fabric(has a nylon on one side but rubber on the other side. This is only if you want to be able to use the other side as a changing pad)
  • Thread
  • 3-4″ of a 2″ Velcro
  • at least a 4 oz bag of Poly-Fil poly-pellets

I will put the pattern in the Template section.  You will need one cut out of each fabric, 2 of the top pieces, 2 small straps, 2 large straps, one pocket(cut on the diagonal so that you get some stretch) Hands Free Pattern

Tutorial: hands free burp cloth

  1. Start with the pocket. Sew the hem on 3/8″ on all corners.
  2. On the bottom of the pocket I did a total of 4 pleats.  And sewed the with a bigger stitch just to get them into place.
  3. Pin the pocket to the flannel fabric.  Make sure you are about 1/2″ away from the side to allow for seam.
  4. Sew the straps, right sides together on 3 sides. Do this for both straps.
  5. Turn inside out *tip: I cut the very tip of the corner off so it will lay nicer and I use a needle at the corners to help pull them out to a nice square corner edge* then pin the Velcro one to each strap. Have the Velcro be about 1/4″ from the top. Sew the Velcro strips.
  6. Pin the straps on the flannel fabric as well in the center area as indicated on the pattern. *Make sure that you have the Velcro facing up & down so that when they attach they make a circle*
  7. Now you can sew the pocket and the straps.  When sewing the straps I did a straight stitch and then did a zigzag stitch on the edge.
  8. Sew one of the top pieces to the flannel. Right sides together.  Do this as well for the nylon fabric.
  9. Put front and back pieces right sides together and the batting on top of one of the pieces.
  10. Sew the sides leaving a good 4-5″ opening on the top.
  11. Turn inside out.
  12. Sew on the seam line that is above the pocket all the way across.  This will help the fabrics not to move around and also keeps the pellets from going everywhere.
  13. Sew a line down the center up to the seam(In the photo I sewed 3 lines to make channels for the pellets.  But on the second burp cloth I made I only did I line down the center and that was much better).
  14. Sew the outer edging of the burp cloth as close as you can to the edge.  This helps the seam from not moving around. Don’t sew the top yet!
  15. Now time for the pellets.  It is about 4 oz. that fit. You want to make sure there is a little room for the pellets to move around in.
  16. Pin the opening closed and sew it shut.  Now you can sew the edging. I sewed it twice for extra protection of the pellets not getting out.

hands free finished backhands free finished

Leave a Reply

