D.I.Y. Baby Shower Gift: Pillow Sleeve

Baby Showers are always fun.  It has been a long time since I had little ones but I still remember all the things I loved the most.  So I started searching for the “new things” that are out there. I came across a couple of things that I was like “that is awesome!”  Only able to purchase online I don’t have time to wait for the delivery. So I decide to make it myself. Now if you can’t sew or just want to buy it yourself.  Here is the link http://www.comfy-cradle.com/.

image

What you need:

  • 3/4 yard of fabric(cotton or baby flannel)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 yard of 2″ thick batting(I used a 1/4″ thick quilt batting and just rolled it until it was 2″ thick)
  • thread
  • 3/4″ – 1″ Velcro at 9″ long

I used the dimensions of 19″x 9″ for fabric and 14″x 9″ for batting(after making this I had my husband try it and he said it was tight for him. So I would add maybe another 2″ to the length for more room.)

  1. Center the Velcro to one of the bottom pieces(the 9″ side) Sew the Velcro leaving about 1/2-3/4″ on each side including the top.
  2. Match right sides together and sew 3/8″ seam on all the sides except for about a 4″ opening on the opposite side that you sewed the Velcro on.
  3. Now match the batting from the bottom side(the side with the Velcro) going up. You should have about a 2″ section with no batting on top area(the top is where your opening is at.)
  4. Turn right side out.
  5. Pin and sew the hole closed.
  6. Now, Get the other side of the Velcro and center it at the top on the opposite side of the other Velcro(so you should have a Velcro strip on each side of the fabric).
  7. Lastly, Sew down the center of the sleeve to help the batting stay in place.

This is great because I remember having a Boppy and I very rarely used it.  And It was hard to travel with it because it was so bulking.    This reminded me of a water wing.  I am sure you can use it as a pillow or something as well when not rolled up.  Total cost about $20 and was able to make 2 of them.

pillow sleeve

Leave a Reply

